Spring things: what I’m shooting and what I’m doing

Happy Monday!

I’m very excited that the clocks have changed, and now we get sunlight (or maybe, lighter cloud than at night) in the evening. Soon I’ll be taking part in my most favourite afternoon activity, reading in the garden with a strawberry cider. Aaaahhhh.

White magnolia flowers

In the meantime I’m enjoying what spring has to offer, especially the magnolias.

Magnolias are my favourite spring bloom, and every year I make sure I dig out a film camera and head to my favourite tree (on Atherley Road in Southampton, if you’re interested).

This year I took along my Lubitel, which I’m still getting the hang of – but once again, the results have such a wonderful focus. This camera is one of my favourites now, even if the TLR system and 120mm take a bit of getting used to.

I had a bit of film overlap on this roll, but still love how it looks:
White magnolia flowers

White magnolia flowers

Aside from heading out with my camera when the sunshine allows, I’ve been busy booking myself up on the blogging front:

Starting from April, I’ve enrolled myself on Holly Becker (of decor8)’s ecourse, Blogging Your Way. I’ve seen these courses go by before and thought that they look fantastic, so I’ve been saving some pennies to be able to join in on the fun.

During April and May, I’ll hopefully be inspired beyond my wildest dreams and create some fantastic shiz. I can’t wait to get started.

I’m also off to the Blogtacular conference in May (say hi if you’re going!), and am really looking forward to that one.

Lastly, I’ll be doing a Guardian Masterclass on food writing and photography.

So, I’m currently broke, but looking forward to having my brain crammed with knowledge.

When I am at home, I’m looking forward to spring cleaning (no, seriously) my place with the help of Unfuck Your Habitat. If you’ve ever felt that impending doom feeling when you’ve got to clean/tidy, check this out.

Usually, my flat isn’t that bad. But you know how busy weeks can take their toll!

If you’ve ever had that, download the app (it’s worth it), and try out the challenges – or even just a 20/10, which is 20 minutes of cleaning followed by a 10 minute break. You really will be amazed what you can get done in 20 minutes.

It’s like having a cleaning/tidying personal trainer on your phone, which I totally need sometimes. Plus the before and after photos on their Tumblr will make you feel a lot better about yourself.

White magnolia flowers

So how are you enjoying spring so far? What are your favourite things to get up to when the days are longer?

Leave a Reply

