Around the world in 80 photos

Hello! I’ve been meaning to blog about Rando for a few weeks now, but you know how it is.

Rando (you can find some stats here) is an ‘anti-social’ photosharing app that allows the user to take a photo in-app, in real time, and have it sent to anywhere in the world. Cool, huh?

It gets better, because in return you receive a photo from a completely random location! Very cool.

My first Rando

My first Rando

Above is my first Rando – I tested it on a tree outside my building. All Randos are taken in a round frame, which is great for the creativity. Straight away I began thinking how I could utilise this uncommon image shape. Such as adding more circles:
Rando pizza

And pretty soon I was snapping everything around me, to send around the world.
Rando green smoothie
Rando cenotaph Southampton
Rando crane

I was enjoying myself, but I have to admit that the thrill of finding out where my photos were going outweighed receiving them. As someone who is stricken with wanderlust, I would love to be seeing the sights, scenery or backdrops of these countries I may never visit – instead of an out of focus water bottle from Exeter. Similarly, I expect whoever it was living on the Isle of Wight that received my photo from Southampton must have been a bit gutted that it wasn’t somewhere more exotic.

After a while, you do start to see a trend with where the app is most popular – Rando is MASSIVE in South Korea. While I love getting this extra insight into the country (Seoul, mainly), a bit more variety can be nice. Interestingly, ustwo (Rando’s creators) credit this to a South Korean pop star tweeting his Rando photo, and causing a huge upsurge in downloads and uploads.

I have received some great Randos though, and here are three of my favourites:

Rando from a bar *somewhere* in Russia

Rando from a bar *somewhere* in Russia

 

Rando from San Francisco (a place in my top three to visit too!)

Rando from San Francisco (a place in my top three to visit too!)

 

Rando from Moscow (a city I would very much like to return to)

Rando from Moscow (a city I would very much like to return to)

If there’s anything I’d like to see added to Rando, it’s the ability to see the town or city name of a received photo, after the initial notification. For example, I can’t remember for the life of me the name of that Russian town in the middle of nowhere!

I enjoyed using Rando in my own travels, and used it to document my trips for myself as well as for others:

Rando from the train into London Waterloo

Rando from the train into London Waterloo

 

Rando from a bar in Gibraltar

Rando from a bar in Gibraltar

The ‘anti-social’ element means that you can’t send any messages or know exactly who posted your Rando – there is complete anonymity. It would be fair to think that this may make it easy for people to post ‘inappropriate’ images, but photos/users are moderated to ensure content is good to send.

Similarly, while you can save photos to your camera roll, there is no option to share on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or any of the other usual suspects. This doesn’t stop people though, and you will see a good share of photos on Instagram with the tag ‘rando’. Myself included.

The app is free on both iOS and Android, and can get very addictive within the first few days. Give it a go and see where yours end up!

2 thoughts on “Around the world in 80 photos

Leave a Reply

