Super-tasty king prawn korma

IMG_7236
I’ll be honest, this isn’t going to be the most scientific of recipes. But it’s easy to do, and tastes super as the title says!


image-8

Recipe
2 servings king prawns, defrosted
1 onion, chopped
1 red pepper, cut into small strips
A handful or 2 baby spinach, washed
Half a can coconut milk
Half a jar korma paste
1 tsp cumin seeds
A good dash of turmeric
Chilli seeds (optional)
120g* rice of your choice
Your choice of nans/poppadoms/etc
Oil for cooking

Depending what rice you’re using, you’ll want to get that started off boiling first. If like me, you went for quick and easy white basmati you can put this on when you start with the main event. It takes about 10 minutes to cook, so you can count backwards. I usually put in turmeric with the rice to turn it a lovely golden colour. For the curry, start by heating the oil in a large saucepan and throw in the onion, pepper and cumin seeds when hot.

My turmeric rice

My turmeric rice

image-11

Let the onion and pepper cook until starting to soften (a good few minutes), and then add the prawns to warm through. After this has had another minute, spoon in the korma paste and the coconut milk. Stir these together to blend into a single pale liquid, and keep simmering to get the heat through. When you feel you’re about a minute away from being done, add and stir in the spinach – or add it earlier if you like it softer and more wilted.

Serve with the rice and your choice of bread – I’m a poppadom girl! I sometimes serve curry with a sprinkling of dried chilli seeds on top, but as I usually have hotter curries I prefer to keep my korma different – mild and creamy, and so omit them on this.

My finished product!

My finished product!

*This is what the packet I have says for 2 people – but I usually find this to be too big a portion and go for around 100 for 2. Feel free to make however much you like!

Let me know if you make this, and how you get on 🙂

Leave a Reply

